Had an unusual play Sunday and just wondering how you would rule. Bases loaded with one out. Batter pops up to the infield. Third baseman fields the pop up and throws to first in an attempt to double the runner off first. First baseman had also charged the pop up so nobody there to take the throw. Ball ends up out of play. Runner that started on first did not return to first to tag up. Umpires awarded bases on the overthrow. Defensive team appealed runner not tagging, and won the appeal. After much discussion, including uic and tournament director, umpires allowed the runs to stand that were a result of the overthrow. Our team was on offense so it benefits us, but I am still not sure that was the correct call. Our team did not argue the call,just wondering.