Putting in a batting cage???

frenchy101010

Reaction score
I’m putting a batting cage in, in the backyard. I’ve got exactly 42’, I want to put 4 poles cemented in, to make a 10x10x40 cage. Do I need 2 more poles in the middle or should the 4 be enough?

I plan on running 2 wires/cables on the 40’ runs so I can attach the net with d-rings so I can move it easily to cut the grass. An ideas/help would be appreciated.

allcorners

Reaction score
I built one in my pole building and I was surprised by how heavy the net was. As long as you are able to pull the wire tight, the net will not sag. You can never go wrong with having to many poles. It would really stink to get it all up and realize you should have used a couple extra poles. Then you have to take it all apart. I would go with the extra poles from the start.

daboss

Reaction score
Stringing ANY size cable a distance over 16' can be very taxing on your frame. While I am not an expert, I have constructed many buildings including pole barns and have worked with milrights on tall structures using guide cables for support on grain storage facilities. I'd like to add a few things to think about that may help you decide what you really expect out of your efforts.