Biggest Dislike of Travel Softball

coachjwb

Reaction score
Lots of good ones I like including Stay to Play, timed games (or at least too short of timed games), and the parents/coaches who think it's D1 or bust.

One comment ... I get the 11 player max but on older teams 12 often makes more sense, and even on some younger teams depending on the level of commitment, etc.

One question for Streak ... why are wristbands such a dislike for you? In full disclosure, as most people here know I have been doing systems for teams for going on 5 years, and I get so much positive feedback and so much return interest that this surprised me a little. I get that some coaches prefer not to use them, but I just haven't heard anyone say it's a big dislike, other than perhaps systems that aren't designed right and which could slow down the game. Again, just curious.

One other dislike ... any rule or person that takes fun away from the game. This is a great game, and anything that takes away from that is something I dislike.

wow

Reaction score
BTW LOVE wristbands. Its not the wristbands that are the problem. Its the coach who incorporates color/number/shape/font for 3 pitches. Then has 2,345 plays on the backside of the band. If you use them right its so simple and EZ to change if you need to. Actually speeds up the game when used properly.

streak2010

Reaction score
I’ve seen many missed signs with wristbands and they do slow the game down. Coach looks at wristband, calls play, players look to see and then play begins. Coach provides old school signal - play begins. Meanwhile while giving signals “old school” a coach can also look at defense or strategy for pitcher.

You’re down 1 run and need to start another inning in under 5 minutes - ditch the wristbands.

We have generic signals early but once in season we don’t have a signal stolen the old school way.

Just my opinion and I don’t care if others wear them. Just an un-needed additional cost in the sport for us.