Music at Practice?

Andrew Scott

Reaction score
Hi Everyone - I am new to the tournament scene as this is my daughter’s first year playing on a competitive tournament team. We were at a tournament this weekend and there were a handful of teams who brought their own “boom box” to the games to introduce their girls and give them “walk up music” when it was their turn at bat. They also played music in between innings. My daughter, being a young girl, loved that and asked if we could get one for the team worst case to play music during practice.

I realize this is kind of an off topic question, however my question to you all is do you play music during your practices? If so do the girls get distracted by it or do they stay focused? I could make pros/cons of both sides, but curious to hear from you all. If anyone does play music, any recommendations on what to buy?

Thanks for any input.

DanMaz

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
just don't let the girls use their phone playlists.... might hear a few surprise lyrics and you and your team will definitely be embarrassed. oh man! Seen it happen before.

OhPhat

Reaction score
Music at practice and during warmups seems to be relaxing to the girls. As for walk up music and music in between innings, it’s ok but please do not blast it loudly. Had a team last year play it so loud we could not even talk to our girls in the field.

frenchy101010

Reaction score
Was in TN a few years ago where a team from Loiusiana showed up with a cart with like 10 speakers blasted that music pre-game, during the game it was VERY annoying!!! No problems with the umps, but a grandma with a cowbell was warned not to use it, LOL.

Love the music at practice it seems to keep the girls motivated.

22dad

Reaction score