Strike zone

Icemike

Reaction score
I would love to see the strike zone open up some. I feel in way too many cases it has become way too small. I want to see teams swing the bat. Games will move along quicker and be more fun to watch. At 43 feet with the jacked up bats, I hate to see pitchers have to groove pitches. In showcases, elite pitchers will still dominate. As a coach, I want to see the elite hitters. Most plus 16 u hitters can dominates a small strike zone. Just my view. Have been at it a long time. Started coaching in HS when distance was 40’ for pitchers and strike zone was bigger. Great games could be done in an hour and 20 minutes.

SonicMojo

Reaction score
I would love to see smaller strike zones, like where part of the ball actually has to pass over part of the plate. I want to see teams swing the bat AND actually make contact with the ball!

Last edited:

First2Third

Reaction score
After 10u rec ball, I honestly can't recall ever thinking to myself, gee, that strike zone is too small. And this is from a pitcher's dad! Countless times I see zones that are too big. It's really terrible at 16u seeing pitchers get strikes going 2-3 balls off the plate just because they hit the target.

City Slicker

Reaction score
I don't know... we played last night and the zone was high, low, wide & in.

It needs to be a fair zone. I want to see kids swing too but I want to see quality swings. Swinging at pitches at your chin or below the middle of your shins aren't quality swings. And it is impossible for a hitter to hit a ball that is 1 ball off the plate, let alone 2 or 3.

Stedman00

Reaction score