Hit by Pitch - Bret Man???

Discussion in 'Softball Rules Questions - Answers' started by MCombs, Jul 15, 2019.

  1. MCombs

    MCombs Member

    Stingrays this weekend... our pitcher threw a pitch that fell out of her hand and basically rolled towards the plate. There was a runner on first who stole second on the pitch. The batter stepped out of the batters box and the ball rolled into her foot while she was completely out of the box. What is the ruling on that?? Three man crew got together and tried to look up the rule but couldn’t find anything. The game was delayed for a while so both coaches just agreed to keep the runner on 2nd and make the batter return to the plate and count that pitch as a ball. Any idea what the ruling is??
     
  2. BretMan2

    BretMan2 TSZ/OFC Umpire in Chief

    If the batter made any effort whatsoever to avoid getting hit, then this is a hit batter. Award first base.

    If the ball was slowly rolling and easily avoidable, but the batter purposely let it hit her, then this is a ball added to the count, no base award.
     
  3. BruisedShins

    BruisedShins Member

    Would it be a dead ball though?
     
  4. BretMan2

    BretMan2 TSZ/OFC Umpire in Chief

    Yes! Anytime a pitch touches a batter it is a dead ball.
     
  5. MCombs

    MCombs Member

    So in this scenario if the home plate umpire felt that she made an attempt to get out of the way but was hit then she is awarded 1st base regardless of being out of the box. If the umpire felt she that she didn’t make an attempt to get out of the way then it’s a dead ball and the pitch is a ball and the runner on 2nd has to go back to 1st???
     
  6. BretMan2

    BretMan2 TSZ/OFC Umpire in Chief

    Being in or out of the batter’s box isn’t really a factor here.

    Think about this one: A fast, wild pitch comes toward the batter. She jumps back to get out of the way, stepping out of the box, then the ball hits her.

    She still gets awarded first base. Are you going to make her stay at the plate when it was the pitch that caused her to step out of the box?

    Admittedly, a slow roller like this one is kind of an oddball play. But in the end, it’s still a pitch and all of the usual rules applying to any other pitch are still in effect. There’s no rule that says to treat it differently just because it’s rolling on the ground instead of moving through the air.

    If it says there were three umpires for this game, it must have been one of the championship games. That means you should have three experienced umpires. Frankly, I’m surprised that this caused any extended discussion or debate on the field. It’s a pitch. Treat it just like any other pitch!
     
  7. MCombs

    MCombs Member

    Fair enough... thanks for the info!
     
  8. coachtomv

    coachtomv Active Member

    A little confused on this one. I thought this rule was changed a few years back that the batter does not need to make an attempt to avoid a pitched ball to be awarded a base. Is this for certain governing bodies only?
     
  9. coachtomv

    coachtomv Active Member

    Ok, I see. The avoidance rule is for outside the box. Inside the box no attempt needs made.

    ASA:
    11.16 Hit Batter (by Pitch)
    11.16.1 A batter is awarded first base when a pitched ball is entirely within the
    batter’s box and it strikes the batter or her clothing. No attempt to avoid being
    hit by the pitch is required however the batter may not obviously try to get hit
    by the pitch (See Rule 11.16.3.1).
    11.16.2 A batter is awarded first base when a pitched ball neither swung at nor
    called a strike touches any part of the batter’s person or clothing while she is
    in the batter’s box, except as noted in Rule 11.16.3 that follows.
    EFFECT— (11.16.1-11.16.2)— The ball is dead. The batter is entitled to
    first base without liability to be put out. Base runners may not
    advance unless forced.
    Notes:
    1. It does not matter if the ball strikes the ground before hitting the batter.
    2. The batter’s hands are not considered part of the bat.
    3. If a batter swings and the ball hits her hands sending it into fair or foul
    territory, the ball is dead and a strike is called on the batter. If it is strike three,
    the batter is out.
    11.16.3 The hit batter shall not be awarded first base under the following
    circumstances:
    11.16.3.1 The batter made no attempt to avoid the pitch (which is not entirely
    in the batter’s box) or she obviously tried to get hit by the pitch (regardless
    of its location).
    EFFECT—The ball is dead. The pitch is a ball or strike (depending on
    its location), and the batter remains at bat, except the batter
    is declared out if the pitch was a third strike or the batter is
    awarded first base if the pitch was “Ball four.” Base runners
    advance if forced.
    116 RULE 11 / BATTING
    Note: The benefit of any doubt must go to the batter and could include a batter
    freezing and unable to move due to the unusual movement or speed of the pitch.

    11.16.3.2 The batter is hit by a pitch in the strike zone.
    EFFECT—The ball is dead. The pitch is a strike. The batter is declared out if
    the pitch was a third strike; otherwise, she remains at bat. Each
    base runner must return to the base legally occupied at the time
    of the pitch.
    11.16.3.3 The pitched ball touches any part of the batter’s person as she
    swings and misses for a third strike.
    EFFECT—The ball is dead. The batter is declared out, and each base runner
    must return to the base legally occupied at the time of the pitch.
    11.16.3.4 The batter is hit by a pitch out of the front of the batter’s box,
    assuming she did not swing or attempt to bunt.
    EFFECT—“No Pitch.”
     
  10. BretMan2

    BretMan2 TSZ/OFC Umpire in Chief

    I don’t know where you got what was posted above, but you are getting bad information. This is NOT the current ASA/USA softball rule!

    In USA softball a batter is still required to avoid the pitch in order to be awarded first base. Their rule hasn’t changed.

    In many others, starting with NCAA then filtering down to lower levels, the batter does not need to avoid the pitch IF the ball is entirely inside the batter’s box. However, the batter still cannot purposely move in such a way to contact the ball. Also, if the ball is outside the batter’s box an attempt to avoid it still must be made.
     
    coachtomv likes this.
  11. wilsey73

    wilsey73 Member

    Thats wrong....read rule 8.1.f2
     
  12. BretMan2

    BretMan2 TSZ/OFC Umpire in Chief

    What was posted is the NCAA rule, word for word, but with different rule numbers than what’s in their current rule book, like it came out of an older book.
     
  13. coachtomv

    coachtomv Active Member

    You mean the internet lied? lol
     

Share This Page