New to coaching travel ball -tips? sign up for tourneys..money..etc

new travel coach

Reaction score
Hello,
First off I want to thank anyone who is willing to share some of their knowledge towards beginning a head coaching career. A little bit of background. I have been assisting a travel ball team for 2 years now. I am 21 with 13 years of softball experience total, 8 years of competitive travel ball experience, and 2 years of playing NCAA Division 3 softball on a very competitive team before I decided it was time for me to end my playing career. Recently, the two other coaches who are parents that I coach with are either stepping down for next season because their daughter has decided to quit or they are moving to a different team. So before they dissolve the team, they asked to see if I was interested in taking the team over next season. I love coaching and I love the game of softball, and I know a lot about the sport, but I do not know the logistics of being a head coach i.e. signing up for tournaments, how much to charge players, if I need certain certification, uniforms, etc. If any of you have any tips or how you deal with these items as a coach any knowledge would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much.

Coach Presty

Reaction score