Tax deductions

311road

Reaction score
So this may be a stretch, but.....can you deduct team fees on your taxes? Most teams are set up as a non-profit, can that be considered a donation? I know there are some enrichment activities like theater and the like that can be deducted if they are operated by a non-profit, so my kid is enriched on the diamond as opposed to the stage, can I too deduct? Just curious.

coachjwb

Reaction score
The answer is no. I'm an accountant by trade but not a tax accountant, so I may not give the right explanation but two things ...

1) Not all nonprofits are charities as defined by the IRS

2) Anything you give to a charity that you get something in return for is not tax deductible. Team fees are typically used to enter tournaments, buy uniforms or equipment, pay coaches, etc. ... so your daughter is getting something in return. Now if part of the team fees were going to a charity, say for example, Stay in Softball, then that part would be deductible. And if the organization is set up a charity, and someone not directly benefiting gives money, then these might be deductible ... but no, if say your parents (the player's grandparents) give money and that somehow offsets your daughter's fees, that isn't deductible for them either.

Last edited:

311road

Reaction score
Thank you Sir, I figured, but had to ask. That's why I pay someone to do my taxes.

Dawgsdad

Reaction score
I was told if you do automatic donations to like United Way then get the tax I'd of the org and have all of your amounts go to a specific group and they are 501c3, it is possible. I have never done it but it was explained that way to me.

coachjwb

Reaction score
I think it is possible to claim it and reduce the chances of it being "caught" but, if audited and they figured out what it was actually for, you'd owe the tax savings back along with penalties and interest.

Dawgsdad

Reaction score