What is the most antiheroic thing you've ever done?

mike_dyer

Reaction score
When I was a year out of high school I got the itch to compete again so I started training. I hit a few open tournaments and then in the middle of the summer I signed up for a freestyle tournament at the state fair.

I didn't know many of the rules for FS. It's just wrestling, right?

WRONG!

Wrong in a way at least. The way it's scored is all different and this will be long enough so I won't go into it.

Anyway, there were 18 guys in my weight so they split it into 2 pools with 9 guys in each of them. How they picked the pools is a mystery. You can't really seed a tournament with no numbers to compare. I did notice that the guys in my pool were mostly "unattached" or not affiliated with any club and the guys in the other pool were all there with someone.

So, again, I know nothing about the scoring maneuvers or holds. I just decided that I was going to use all of my folkstyle stuffs. I was out there hitting cement mixers and racking up big points with them. I broke out the cheap turn that my coach called a "head lever" until I used it so much that they just started calling it "the Dyer." They still call it that today. :cool: These guys were basing out after I would score a takedown and waiting for a restart, I was grabbing their wrist, pulling it under them, and rocking this cheap little tilt 2 or 3 times. I spladled one of them and got a fall. It was hilarious.

I was rolling. 2 or 3 matches into it I felt great. A lot of the guys I was beating were whining to the mat officials and pulling their own little light weight antiheroic stuff.

"He has no respect for the sport. He's not even using freestyle technique!" etc. Amateur hour.