TheSoftballZone

Administrator
Reaction score
I have read posts on OFC for a while, usually at my best friend house. I have always had a passion for the sport and I am a retired coach (travel and HS). Many of my former players are now becoming the parents of a DD in softball and I have fielded a lot of questions recently about which organizations to look at with the tryouts coming up in the fall. I get this question frequently and one of the parents suggested I break an old habit (of not posting on online sites) and actually register and start posting some.

Well, this is a post to answer the question in the title bar. Remember, this is just my opinions based on my observations from attending tournaments in Ohio (and sometimes Michigan). I do not intend to slight any organizations as there are some that I do not know as well as others.. Without further ado.. here is my list that I would recommend parents to at least check out. I will recommend that you check out more than one and don't allow yourself to be pressure to "sign now, or lose your spot. That type of hardsell is a bad sign.

(Please, this is in no particular order so don't read anything into the order they are posted)

Ohio Ice - they have a history of being good and well coached. I like Mr. Poole. ?He has the knack of attracting good talent and is a good coach. All of the Ice teams seem to do well. I have seen the 14U Poole team more than the others and they are a very talented team. They are from the Alliance Ohio area and draw a good deal of girls from Cleveland/Akron area. Worth the drive for a tryout, if travel is not a problem.