Catching and Catchers discussion Blocking Home Plate

Can anyone tell me what the rule is and where it can be located in the ASA softball rule book about blocking home plate without the ball/when ball is being thrown in to home plate. We have been told you can not block the plate without having the ball is this correct or not?
Thanks for your help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Well from what I know its a rule I'm not sure about ASA but in NSA when I started playing catcher I was warned ahead of time by an ump that you can't block the plate unless there is a play being made there.

Or rec league plays ASA, with paid ASA umps. ?And catchers are NOT allowed to block the plate without a play in the process of being made at home. ?They will also call your runner out if they fail to slide under the same conditions. ?BTW....I do not swear this is correct, these are the rules we have been made to follow.

the rule for ASA is under obstruction - 1st read the definition on page 57, then go to rule Rule 8 in the rule book

Please tell me....where do I get the "top secret" ASA rule book?

If you want to keep abreast of all the rule changes, go to the rules interpretation meeting at the OHSFCA meeting at the Easton Hilton in January of every year. This meeting is also held at different times and places during the winter. This rule was discussed extensively last Jan along with the "ball hitting the bat" rule.

Knowing these rules has help in winning some crucial games this year. Believe me, when you approach the blues knowing what you are talking about, it makes all the difference in the world.