If a Pitch hits an umpire is it Automatically a dead ball?

Discussion in 'Softball Rules Questions - Answers' started by 412Ron, May 22, 2018.

  1. 412Ron

    412Ron Member

    If a pitch hits an umpire is it a dead ball ?

    No injuries occurred on play.
     
  2. Captain_Thunder

    Captain_Thunder Well-Known Member Staff Member

    It is a live ball.....
    Umpires are part of the field...
     
  3. 412Ron

    412Ron Member

    Had this happen last weekend , High fastball hit umpire in chest protector. Runner would have scored , umpire yelled Dead ball...…….
     
  4. Jamie Wolff

    Jamie Wolff Active Member

    The umpire made a mistake...
     
  5. ASA Ump

    ASA Ump New Member

    I have backed up the catcher on many occasions and prevented runs from scoring. Ball remains live.
     
  6. wilsey73

    wilsey73 Member

    Live ball, unless the umpire is positioned in front of a fielder...Which in softball if that happens than he is out of position
     

Share This Page