Interference??

Discussion in 'The Umpires Life and Rulings' started by bill, Jul 6, 2020.

  1. bill

    bill New Member

    Runner on 2nd base 2 outs. Ball hit to shortstop playing 5-10 feet behind baseline. base runner runs through in front of shortstop no contact with ball not even close to contact with the shortstop. Ball goes between shortstops feet under her glove. What’s the call?

    Bases loaded zero outs. Ball hit to shortstop playing 5-10 feet behind baseline. base runner runs through in front of shortstop no contact with ball not even close to contact with the shortstop. Ball fielded cleanly by shortstop. What’s the call?
     
  2. Stedman00

    Stedman00 Active Member

    it's possible that ump could rule interference in both above scenerios, but not likely IMO.
     
  3. bill

    bill New Member

    Both times were ruled interference. 2 different field umpires both said runner can not run between the fielder and the ball. Runner must stop running and let the ball go through. Fielder playing way too deep to go behind. Anytime runner crosses between fielder and the ball it is always interference. I have never heard this before. USA softball tournament.
     
  4. mroby5172

    mroby5172 Active Member

    If the umpire felt the runner hinder the shortstop from making the play then interference can be called. It is a judgement call, I would think scenario 1 would be more likely be called since the shortstop didn't make the play.
     
  5. BretMan2

    BretMan2 TSZ/OFC Umpire in Chief

    There’s no rule that says a runner can’t run between the fielder and the ball.

    As long as the runner was doing nothing other than advancing straight to the next base this shouldn’t be interference. But it could be interference IF:

    - the runner altered her path or timed it so that she’s be right in front of the fielder when the ball got there.

    - the runner did something to distract the fielder, like yell at her or wave her arms.

    - the runner passed so close to the fielder that it impeded her (5-10 feet is plenty far away).

    - if the fielder was charging the ball and had to check up because of the runner’s position or presence.

    Like most interference calls, it’s a judgment call and you have to see it to judge it.
     

Share This Page