who will be the runner?

alex p magsombol

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2024
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Points
3
this was the situation.
bottom of 7th inning with 2 outs.
runner on 2nd base is player A, player B hits a grounder to SS and while he's on fielding position, player A interferes with the play and player A was called out(3rd out)
the game went to extra inning.
my question is, who will be placed as runner on 2nd base, player A(since he's the 3rd out) or player B(he's the last at bat)?
 

daboss

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2014
Messages
810
Reaction score
576
Points
93
Location
Clark County Ohio (Southwest District)
this was the situation.
bottom of 7th inning with 2 outs.
runner on 2nd base is player A, player B hits a grounder to SS and while he's on fielding position, player A interferes with the play and player A was called out(3rd out)
the game went to extra inning.
my question is, who will be placed as runner on 2nd base, player A(since he's the 3rd out) or player B(he's the last at bat)?

Okay, I think I know what your asking and why. You're trying to clarify what's right in the event of a tie-breaker situation to follow after the regulation amount of innings have been played.

This seems fun. Let me try. Runner A was indeed the last out of the inning so she would take position on 2nd base to be the runner to begin the extra-inning/tie-breaker scenario. Batter/player B would begin as the batter to start that inning. Hope I'm right. lol.
 

yocoach

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
636
Reaction score
335
Points
63
Location
Youngstown, Oh.
I'm not an umpire, but according to the USA, the USSSA and PGF rulesets, the last player who completed their at bat will be placed on second.

With that said, many tournament rules will use the last out or the last batted out in their ITB rules as the runner to be placed on second. They are not the same. In this scenario, the last out would be player A. The last batted out would be the player that batted before Player B and was out if Player B was deemed not have reached base safely before the 3rd out was called. I would recommend talking to the HC, get a copy of the tournament rules and if nothing is specifically mentioned about the ITB batter runner, then they should be using the last completed at bat.
 

alex p magsombol

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2024
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Okay, I think I know what your asking and why. You're trying to clarify what's right in the event of a tie-breaker situation to follow after the regulation amount of innings have been played.

This seems fun. Let me try. Runner A was indeed the last out of the inning so she would take position on 2nd base to be the runner to begin the extra-inning/tie-breaker scenario. Batter/player B would begin as the batter to start that inning. Hope I'm right. lol.
 

alex p magsombol

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2024
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Okay, I think I know what your asking and why. You're trying to clarify what's right in the event of a tie-breaker situation to follow after the regulation amount of innings have been played.

This seems fun. Let me try. Runner A was indeed the last out of the inning so she would take position on 2nd base to be the runner to begin the extra-inning/tie-breaker scenario. Batter/player B would begin as the batter to start that inning.
I'm not an umpire, but according to the USA, the USSSA and PGF rulesets, the last player who completed their at bat will be placed on second.

With that said, many tournament rules will use the last out or the last batted out in their ITB rules as the runner to be placed on second. They are not the same. In this scenario, the last out would be player A. The last batted out would be the player that batted before Player B and was out if Player B was deemed not have reached base safely before the 3rd out was called. I would recommend talking to the HC, get a copy of the tournament rules and if nothing is specifically mentioned about the ITB batter runner, then they should be using the last completed at bat.
now its clear. thank you and good day.
 

alex p magsombol

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2024
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Okay, I think I know what your asking and why. You're trying to clarify what's right in the event of a tie-breaker situation to follow after the regulation amount of innings have been played.

This seems fun. Let me try. Runner A was indeed the last out of the inning so she would take position on 2nd base to be the runner to begin the extra-inning/tie-breaker scenario. Batter/player B would begin as the batter to start that inning. Hope I'm right. lol.
thank you for your reply
 

Stedman00

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2014
Messages
624
Reaction score
407
Points
63
player B. At bat was complete the 2nd that ball was hit fairly into play. That's also why most rules use completed at bat for that runner.
 

daboss

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2014
Messages
810
Reaction score
576
Points
93
Location
Clark County Ohio (Southwest District)
I'm not an umpire, but according to the USA, the USSSA and PGF rulesets, the last player who completed their at bat will be placed on second.

With that said, many tournament rules will use the last out or the last batted out in their ITB rules as the runner to be placed on second. They are not the same. In this scenario, the last out would be player A. The last batted out would be the player that batted before Player B and was out if Player B was deemed not have reached base safely before the 3rd out was called. I would recommend talking to the HC, get a copy of the tournament rules and if nothing is specifically mentioned about the ITB batter runner, then they should be using the last completed at bat.

In any of these scenarios, if Player B was deemed to have not completed her at bat, the next inning, if there is one, she would be the first batter up and batting again.

It was wrong of me to assume the interference happened before player B reached 1st safely. This is kinda unique due to the interference to end the previous inning.

I'm curious to hear how the umpire ruled that game. I apologize in advance if I mislead you. I haven't been actual game active as a coach for a few years and focused on pitching lessons for the kids.
 

yocoach

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
636
Reaction score
335
Points
63
Location
Youngstown, Oh.
It was wrong of me to assume the interference happened before player B reached 1st safely. This is kinda unique due to the interference to end the previous inning.

I'm curious to hear how the umpire ruled that game. I apologize in advance if I mislead you. I haven't been actual game active as a coach for a few years and focused on pitching lessons for the kids.
Me too!
 

alex p magsombol

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2024
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Points
3
It was wrong of me to assume the interference happened before player B reached 1st safely. This is kinda unique due to the interference to end the previous inning.

I'm curious to hear how the umpire ruled that game. I apologize in advance if I mislead you. I haven't been actual game active as a coach for a few years and focused on pitching lessons for the kids.
 

wpauic

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2020
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Western PA
Player B should be placed at 2nd base because the rule states that when Player A interferes (or gets hit with the ball, which is a form of interference) all other runners will be returned to the base last occupied at the time of the interference and Player B who was the batter cannot return to the batter's box because if they did that all the action they caused by putting the ball in play would be nullified. Think about what we would do with Player B if the interference of Player A was not the 3rd out of the inning??? We would award Player B 1st base because they cannot go back to the batter's box so technically that is what happens even if the interference is the 3rd out so player B would be the ITB runner placed at 2B and Player C would be in the batter's box. It is not the last out at 2B it is the batter due up last in the Tie-Breaker inning or the last batter to bat the inning before so whatever way you want to look at it Player B should be at 2B
 

alex p magsombol

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2024
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Player B should be placed at 2nd base because the rule states that when Player A interferes (or gets hit with the ball, which is a form of interference) all other runners will be returned to the base last occupied at the time of the interference and Player B who was the batter cannot return to the batter's box because if they did that all the action they caused by putting the ball in play would be nullified. Think about what we would do with Player B if the interference of Player A was not the 3rd out of the inning??? We would award Player B 1st base because they cannot go back to the batter's box so technically that is what happens even if the interference is the 3rd out so player B would be the ITB runner placed at 2B and Player C would be in the batter's box. It is not the last out at 2B it is the batter due up last in the Tie-Breaker inning or the last batter to bat the inning before so whatever way you want to look at it Player B should be at 2B
 
Top