Double Runners??

Discussion in 'The Umpires Life and Rulings' started by Buckeye Elite 05, Jun 25, 2019.

  1. Buckeye Elite 05

    Buckeye Elite 05 New Member

    Saw something new this past weekend at a tournament. Bases loaded, batter walks. The girl at third stays out until the runner from second gets to third, then they both run home, practically touching each other. If a throw is made home to get the second runner, would the first runner be called out for inevitable obstruction? Even though she was awarded home on the walk? Would both runners be called out? Like I said, never saw anyone do this before.
     
  2. BretMan2

    BretMan2 TSZ/OFC Umpire in Chief

    The first runner isn’t doing anything illegal. She’s simply advancing to the next base. It’s up to the defense to “work around her” if they want to tag the other runner. As described, I don’t see any rule violations.
     
    Mark1951mazak and Dawgsdad like this.

Share This Page