Maximum time between pitches?

Discussion in 'General Softball Discussions' started by Rerun, Aug 1, 2020 at 4:57 PM.

  1. Rerun

    Rerun Super Moderator Staff Member

    What is the maximum time between pitches? If a pitchers is taking longer then 20 second to pitch should the batter request time and step out of the box?
     
  2. BretMan2

    BretMan2 TSZ/OFC Umpire in Chief

    If the pitcher is taking longer than 20 seconds, then the umpire should call time and add a penalty “ball” to the batter’s count.

    The 20 second count starts when the pitcher receives the ball, or when the umpire instructs her to “play ball”.
     
  3. wilsey73

    wilsey73 Member

    When the pitcher has the ball in the circle
     
  4. BretMan2

    BretMan2 TSZ/OFC Umpire in Chief

    I'm looking at the USA and NFHS rule. Neither mentions anything about "the circle". Is there another rule or interpretation that makes reference to the pitching circle?
     
  5. wilsey73

    wilsey73 Member

    You're right, im just used to them being in the circle
     

Share This Page