Catching and Catchers discussion When should a catcher call her own game?

This is my first post, but I have been following for about a year.

I have been struggling with teaching my catchers to call a game. ?It seems to me that even though they are smart players, they just don't process the situations well enough to make good decisions. ?Or,....I am not giving them enough leash for them to learn, by letting them make mistakes. ?Either way, I am interested in whether any other of you coaches are doing this, and if you are, what works. ?Are the girls too young for me to be trying this with? ?I coach 14 year olds. ?I have 2 catchers that I have been coaching for 3 years. ? I tried to let them call a game each at the end of last season, but ended up back on the bucket in a couple of innings (in both games). ?In general, I think it is important for the catcher to understand the game at that level, but I have had no success teaching it so far.

Here is a web site that I use www.windpitch.com/PitcherCatcherChart.hmtl ?If you study it, this is one heck of alot of info we dump on a catcher to call a game. ? Now with a lap tap Softball Stats gives us information on pitch charts, what a batter did last time up , where they hit it, ?all instantly. ?I think many are going away from catchers calling a game and using a pitching coach to give this information to the catcher.

Uncle..

Ours allow them to do it at 12 years old. The kids call the majority of the game starting then and if there is a circumstance where they struggle a bit, a hey try this works too. But by the time they are in middle school, it's their game.....

Sure they will make a mistake, but oh well......

there are 7 other girls to back them two up in the field if it's a wrong pitch...