Another celbration too early......

Discussion in 'General Softball Discussions' started by Hilliarddad3, May 3, 2016.

  1. Hilliarddad3

    Hilliarddad3 Active Member

  2. Passion4theGame

    Passion4theGame Super Moderator Staff Member

    PERFECT EXAMPLE of making sure you play till Blue says line em up!

    one thing stuck out to me though... not sure about the rule or if it matters.. at the 12-13 second mark a player pushes the runner towards home plate. not sure if it matters..

    tough loss..

    thanks for sharing.
     
  3. crystlemc

    crystlemc Moderator

    A player can push a teammate toward home. A coach, however, cannot.
     
  4. Passion4theGame

    Passion4theGame Super Moderator Staff Member


    makes sense. thanks.
     
  5. BretMan2

    BretMan2 TSZ/OFC Umpire in Chief

    An active runner (one not retired or already scored) may assist another runner, but nobody else may.

    Which runner do you think was assisted by another player? I see what appears to be the third base coach (white shirt and shorts) come near one of the runners, but it's not 100% clear if she touched her or not. It looks like maybe she was about to, then thought better of it.
     
  6. Passion4theGame

    Passion4theGame Super Moderator Staff Member

    I was questioning the player that already crossed the plate and scored. She then assisted the following runner. around the 12-13 second mark of the video.
     
  7. Comp

    Comp Member

    She slapped her on the back as she went by, that is not assisting a runner.
     
  8. BretMan2

    BretMan2 TSZ/OFC Umpire in Chief

    Okay, now I see which one you mean.

    I wouldn't rule that as "assisting" the runner. It looked more like a congratulatory slap on the back. It didn't aid the runner in her effort or ability to run the bases.
     
  9. BruisedShins

    BruisedShins Member

    That was definitely not a congratulatory back slap. I don't know if it was an assist, but it was a push with the clear intent being "Hurry, that girl just picked up the ball in the circle and sees you running home--don't get thrown out!" Did not make a bit of difference though.
     

Share This Page