What’s the call ump? This one is unbelievable

Discussion in 'The Umpires Life and Rulings' started by Rerun, Jul 12, 2020.

  1. Rerun

    Rerun Super Moderator Staff Member

    Runners on second and third bases, batter hits a line drive that hit the third base bag, then bounces and hit the third base coach, then bounces back and the girl that was on third bases who now running get hit by the ball, then the ball roll into Dugout. Ye I said it was unbelievable.

    Have any umpires ever seen this happen or anything close or similar? If you have share the situation, if you haven’t what do believe the call should have been and why?
     
  2. DanMaz

    DanMaz Super Moderator Staff Member

    never saw this one but i will give it a shot. 3rd base is fair territory so i call a base hit, dead ball after hits coach, then player, then rolls out of play. runner got hit with ball is not out. batter gets single. next batter is up with runners on 1st and 3rd.
     
  3. BretMan2

    BretMan2 TSZ/OFC Umpire in Chief

    Two things that affect this call that we don’t know:

    When the runner got hit, was she over fair or foul ground?

    When the ball hit the runner, had it passed an infielder?
     
  4. 9ball

    9ball Member

    Single. Ball inadvertently goes out of play runners advance one base from where they were when the ball went into the dugout.
     
  5. BretMan2

    BretMan2 TSZ/OFC Umpire in Chief

    Even if that was the right ruling, a batted ball that goes out of play is a two-base award, and it’s from where the runners were at the time of the pitch, not from when the ball went out of play.
     
  6. 9ball

    9ball Member

    Ground rule double sounds correct then.
     
  7. BretMan2

    BretMan2 TSZ/OFC Umpire in Chief

    How are you resolving the batted ball contacting the runner?
     
  8. Rerun

    Rerun Super Moderator Staff Member

    Third base runner was fair and no the ball didn’t pass any infielders.
     
  9. BretMan2

    BretMan2 TSZ/OFC Umpire in Chief

    In that case, the runner should have been out for interference. Dead ball as soon as it hit her, so the ball going out of play is irrelevant.
     
  10. Rerun

    Rerun Super Moderator Staff Member

    even with the ball hitting the bag then the third base coach then the runner. I wouldn’t want to be the umpire making this call.
     
  11. 9ball

    9ball Member

    Me either. That's such a weird confluence of events that I'm giving the runner a pass on that one.
     
  12. BretMan2

    BretMan2 TSZ/OFC Umpire in Chief

    Unfortunately, we can’t make calls based on what’s “fair” or to give somebody a break. We have to make them based on actual rules.

    This runner was hit by a batted ball, while over fair territory, before the ball had passed a fielder. That’s interference.

    Yes, that’s a bad break for the runner. But stop and think...how many times have you seen a runner get hit by a batted ball? And how many of those times did the the runner intentionally get hit? Probably none of them! But those runners were out, just the same.

    Interference doesn’t always require intent. You can accidentally interfere.
    .
     
  13. Michael Davis

    Michael Davis New Member

    I guess I'd be wondering why 3B would be playing behind the bag with a runner on 3. Hard to believe the ball didn't pass a fielder. And how the heck did the ball bounce off the coach and hit a runner that should hopefully have been running?
     

Share This Page