Can't get a ruling on this unusual call.

Discussion in 'The Umpires Life and Rulings' started by da mole, Nov 1, 2020.

  1. da mole

    da mole New Member

    May never happen but this is the situation. Long FAIR fly ball to the left fielder. The ball deflects off his glove and goes over the fence but in foul territory. I believe it should be ruled a HR or 4 base error or player assisted HR but some want to call it a ground-rule double because it was in foul territory when clearing the fence.
     
  2. Passion4theGame

    Passion4theGame Super Moderator Staff Member

    I would rule it ground rule Double with it crossing the fence in foul territory. That’s a tricky one.
    Now if it was to happen with one of our batters I would want it called a HR. Lol.

    good one.

    I would like to hear @BretMan2 take on this.
     
  3. Stedman00

    Stedman00 Active Member

    definitely fair ball, I'd have to go with ground rule double as it went out of play in foul territory.
     
    Passion4theGame likes this.
  4. BretMan2

    BretMan2 TSZ/OFC Umpire in Chief

    If it was first touched in fair ground, then it’s a fair ball. Otherwise, it’s just a plain old foul ball.

    If it’s fair and goes over the fence in fair ground, it’s a home run/four base award.

    If it’s fair and goes over the fence in foul ground, it’s a two base award.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2020
    RedsDad, Dawgsdad and wilsey73 like this.
  5. wilsey73

    wilsey73 Member

    Yup
     
  6. Captain_Thunder

    Captain_Thunder Super Moderator Staff Member

    I Concur...
     

Share This Page