Obstruction

Discussion in 'The Umpires Life and Rulings' started by Hink1927, Jul 22, 2018.

  1. Hink1927

    Hink1927 New Member

    in a recent game we had a batter hit a line drive to right center. As she rounded first there was obstruction as signaled by the umpire. The batter/runner slid into third base ahead of the tag and was safe.

    Since there was obstruction at first should the runner been sent home and would they be called safe?
     
  2. UtilityDad

    UtilityDad New Member

    No, based upon your description, she stays at third. Had the play resulted in a tagged out at third, then she would have been awarded that bag as a result with the play not resulting in an out. Same scenario however if the runner had gained third on the play and attempted for home. Had she been tagged out, she would have been awarded home with no out on the play.
     
    MadT likes this.
  3. BretMan2

    BretMan2 TSZ/OFC Umpire in Chief

    Without seeing the play we can't really answer this.

    The penalty for obstruction is that at the end of the play the umpire can award any base necessary to negate the effects of the obstruction.

    If the umpire judges that the runner would have scored without the obstruction, then he can award home. Unless this runner was completely knocked down and laid on the ground for a few seconds, it's probably not likely that they would have scored had they not been obstructed. But it's within the realm of possibility. Without seeing the play we can't say how much the runner got slowed down, so we can't say for sure what the base award should be.
     
    UtilityDad likes this.
  4. Hink1927

    Hink1927 New Member

    That answers the question. The runner could not have made it to Home regardless of the obstruction. Keep her at third. Thanks.
     
  5. UtilityDad

    UtilityDad New Member

    Thanks for the clarification BretMan, I was somewhere on the right track. Always like reading your assessments of plays/rules on here. Keep them coming.
     

Share This Page