Foul or fair

Discussion in 'Softball Rules Questions - Answers' started by Little Monsters, May 17, 2019.

  1. Little Monsters

    Little Monsters New Member

    3rd base defense standing in fair territory reaches over foul line and fields ground ball in foul territory. Foul correct?
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2019
  2. Long Baller

    Long Baller Active Member

    It doesn't matter where the fielder is standing. What matters is where the ball is. Example: If a ball is hit just to the foul side of the 3rd base line, but the 3rd baseman touches the ball with both feet in fair territory, it is still a foul ball.
     
    Little Monsters likes this.
  3. Stedman00

    Stedman00 Active Member

    ball location is determining factor.
     
  4. Captain_Thunder

    Captain_Thunder Well-Known Member Staff Member

    2 people have responded to this and I still don't understand the question...……

    3B is playing his position & fields a grounder hit to him - Why would anyone even begin to think it would be Foul???

     
  5. BretMan2

    BretMan2 TSZ/OFC Umpire in Chief

    I think it meant “standing in fair ground, reaches across foul line to field ball over foul territory”.
     
  6. Little Monsters

    Little Monsters New Member

    Yes standing fair reaches over foul line to play grounder..sorry for bad description
     
  7. Little Monsters

    Little Monsters New Member

    Thank you
     

Share This Page